You are here

Robinson-Spangler North Carolina Room Image Collection

North Tryon Street Showing YMCA and the Opera House

Taken between 1902 and 1909 , this photograph was taken at South Tryon Street and Third Street. On the left is the Trust Building and the first YMCA which was torn down in 1909. The building on right with the wide, front, gable roof and three Italianate style windows is the Opera House.

ID Number: H_2000_01_263_33

Image Year: 1905

Physical Description: 8x10 glossy

Category: Hornet's Nest

Format: Black and White

Image Negative: 1

Print: 1

Donor: Cliff Hoover

Copyright: Charlotte Mecklenburg Library

Publisher: Unknown

Dr. Annie Alexander

Dr. Annie Lowrie Alexander (1864-1929) was the first female physician in North Carolina. This photograph was taken in February 1908. Physical Description: 5x74x5 negative Publisher:

Central High School

Central High School was built in 1923. Lockewood-Greene and Company were the architects, and J.A. Jones Company was the contractor. Located at Elizabeth Avenue and Cecil Street (now Kings Drive) the school is now part of Central Piedmont Community College's campus. Physical Description: 10.30.03 Publisher: Unknown

First Presbyterian Church

Located on West Trade Street, First Presbyterian Church was organized in 1832. This building opened in 1895. 

ID Number: H_2000_01_264_34.

Image Year: 1975

Physical Description: 8x10 glossy

Category: Hornet's Nest

Format: Black and White

Image Negative: 1

Print: 1

Donor: Unknown

Copyright: Charlotte Mecklenburg Library

Publisher: Unknown

Photographer: Margaret Phillips

Wallace or Wallis House detail

A detail of the Wallis (Wallace) House.The Wallis or Wallace house was built around 1756. It was located on Albemarle Road, the house collapsed during an attempt to move the house to another site in the 1960s. Physical Description: 5x7 glossy Publisher: Unknown

Gem Restaurant

The Gem Restaurant was located in the Central Hotel at 7 South Tryon Street. Physical Description: 8x10 glossy. Not a good image. Publisher: Unknown

Ovens Auditorium

Ovens Auditorium and the first Charlotte Coliseum. Photograph taken on September 18, 1976.

ID Number: H_2000_01_265_35

Image Year: 1976

Physical Description: 8x10 glossy

Category: Hornet's Nest

Format: Black and White

Image Negative: 1

Print: 1

Donor: Margaret Phillips

Copyright: Charlotte Mecklenburg Library

Publisher: Unknown

Photographer: Margaret Phillips

Alexander Graham Junior High School on Morehead Street

Looking east past the intersection of Morehead Street and South Boulevard. The end of one wing of the D.H. Hill School can be seen at the corner. The rest of it extended southward on South Boulevard. The Alexander Graham Jr. High School stands just beyond it, running eastward along Morehead Street. Physical Description: 8x10 glossy. Publisher: Unknown

Tryon Street

Looking north from South Tryon and First Streets in the mid-1930s. Physical Description: 8x10 glossy Publisher: Unknown

Vance Park

Vance Park was located on West Fourth and Mint Streets, behind the United States Post Office. This image was copied from Art Work in Charlotte, p. 49. The final 1905 Temperance Meetings in Charlotte, took place at this gazebo. Physical Description: 5x7 glossy Publisher: Unknown